Search site

Centre for Integrated Energy Research

Associate Members of the Centre for Integrated Energy Research

Professor William Gale, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, w.f.gale@leeds.ac.uk

Interdisciplinary Activities in Energy, Aviation, Aerospace and Materials Science.

Professor Peter Taylor, School of Chemical and Process Engineering and School of Earth and Environment, p.g.taylor@leeds.ac.uk

Interdisciplinary Research Combining Science, Technology, Economics and Policy to Enhance the Understanding of, and Policy Responses to, the Challenges of Accelerating the Transition to Sustainable Low-carbon Energy Systems.

Professor Timothy Cockerill, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, t.cockerill@leeds.ac.uk

Developing Integrated Models of Energy Systems and Technologies, and then using those Models to Inform both Technology Development and Policy Decisions.

Dr Andrew Pimm, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, a.j.pimm@leeds.ac.uk

Energy Storage; Renewable Energy.

Dr Zia Wadud, School of Chemical and Process Engineering and Institute for Transport Studies, z.wadud@leeds.ac.uk

Transportation, Energy and Environment; Econometric Modelling (Energy/Transport).

Professor Susan Grant-Muller, Institute for Transport Studies, s.m.grant-muller@its.leeds.ac.uk

A Statistician with Research Niche in Transport Technologies and Social Informatics under the Rubric of Low Carbon Energy Futures.

Dr Catherine Bale, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, c.s.e.bale@leeds.ac.uk

Complexity Science; Energy Policy; Energy Technologies; Socio-technical Aspects of Energy use.

Professor Paul Williams, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, p.t.williams@leeds.ac.uk

Waste and Biomass Pyrolysis; Waste Incineration.

Professor David Barton, School of Mechanical Engineering, d.c.barton@leeds.ac.uk

Automotive Braking Systems; High Strain-rate/Crashworthiness Studies; Polymer Engineering.

Professor Alison McKay, School of Mechanical Engineering, a.mckay@leeds.ac.uk

Socio-technical Aspects of Product-service Systems and the Networks of Organisations that Both Develop and Deliver Products to Market, and Support them Through Life to Disposal or Reuse.

Professor Andrew Gouldson, School of Earth and Environment,
a.gouldson@leeds.ac.uk

Environmental and Climate Policy; Energy and Development Policy; Cities and Climate Change.

Dr Jan Palczewski, School of Mathematics, j.palczewski@leeds.ac.uk

Applications of Control Theory to Financial Markets; Estimation and Optimal Control in Energy Markets; Markov Processes; Statistical Inference for Stochastic Processes.

Dr Paul Upham, School of Earth and Environment, p.upham@leeds.ac.uk

Engagement of the Public and Stakeholders in Energy Technology Development, Policy and Deployment, Drawing on Psychological, Sociological (STS), Innovation and Environmental Management and Science Literatures.

Dr Julia Steinberger, School of Earth and Environment, j.k.steinberger@leeds.ac.uk

Utility Consumption and Business Models; Ecological Economics.

Dr Katy Roelich, School of Earth and Environment and School of Civil Engineering, k.e.roelich@leeds.ac.uk

The Interaction Between Engineering, the Environment and Society, Including Resilience of Infrastructure Transitions to Resource Scarcities and the Role of Infrastructure in Shaping Resource Consumption and Behaviour.

Dr Andrew Ross, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, a.b.ross@leeds.ac.uk

Bioenergy from Algae; Liquefaction and Pyrolysis; Next Generation Transport Fuels; Soot Formation and Emissions; Analytical Methods; Thermal Analysis; Hyphenated Chromatographic Techniques.

Dr Hu Li, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, fuehli@leeds.ac.uk

Transport Emissions and Air Pollution; Combustion and Emissions from Gas Turbines and Reciprocating Engines; Biofuels; Fuels, Lubricants and their Additives; Aviation.

Dr James Tate, Institute for Transport Studies, j.e.tate@its.leeds.ac.uk

Transport and the Environment; Better Understanding the On-road Vehicle Fleet and its Emission Characteristics.

Dr Natasha Merat, Institute for Transport Studies, n.merat@its.leeds.ac.uk

Human Factors of Highly Automated Driving; Driver Behaviour, Especially Driver Distraction and the Influence of new Technologies in Driving.

Professor Nigel Wright, School of Civil Engineering, n.g.wright@leeds.ac.uk

River Basin Management and Integrated Water Resources Management and the Wider Physical, Social and Economic Aspects of each of these.

Professor John Barrett, School of Earth and Environment, j.r.barrett@leeds.ac.uk

Sustainable Consumption and Production (SCP) Modelling; Carbon Accounting and Exploring the Transition to a Low Carbon Pathway.

Dr James Van Alstine, School of Earth and Environment, j.vanalstine@leeds.ac.uk

The Emergence and Implementation of Environmental Policy and Governance; Social and Environmental Risks of Industrial Development; Politics of Low Carbon Transitions; Governance of Resource Extraction in the Global North and South.

Professor Phil Purnell, School of Civil Engineering, p.purnell@leeds.ac.uk

Materials and Structures.

Dr Matthew Davis, Socio-technical Centre, m.davis@leeds.ac.uk

The Promotion of Environmentally Sustainable Work Behaviour and the Design of the Physical Work Environment.

Dr Matthew Cotton, School of Earth and Environment, m.cotton@leeds.ac.uk

Sustainability.

Professor Greg Marsden, Institute for Transport Studies, g.r.marsden@its.leeds.ac.uk

The Impact of Governance Structures and Institutions on Decision-making; End User Energy Demand Reduction Through Innovative Transport Policies.

Professor Wandi Bruine de Bruin, Leeds University Business School, w.bruinedebruin@leeds.ac.uk

Behavioural Decision Making.

Professor Alison Tomlin, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, a.s.tomlin@leeds.ac.uk

Small-scale Wind Energy; Wind Resource Assessment Tools; Renewable Fuels in Transport; Transport Impacts on Climate and Air Quality; Environmental Model Evaluation and Uncertainty Analysis.

Dr Rolf Crook, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, r.crook@leeds.ac.uk

Solar Energy.

Professor Bruce Hanson, School of Chemical and Process Engineering, b.c.hanson@leeds.ac.uk

Nuclear Fuel Cycle; Waste Management and Decommission.

Professor Jon Lovett, School of Geography, j.lovett@leeds.ac.uk

Institutional Economics of Natural Resource Management.

Dr Christof Knoeri, School of Earth and Environment, c.knoeri@leeds.ac.uk

Modelling Human-environmental Systems in General and Agent-based Modelling in Particular.

Dr Jonathan Busch, School of Earth and Environment and School of Civil Engineering, j.busch@leeds.ac.uk

The Resilience of Low Carbon Infrastructure Projects to the Potential Criticality of the Raw Materials they use.

Professor Denise Bower, School of Civil Engineering, d.a.bower@leeds.ac.uk

Project Management Education; Management of Complex and Iconic Projects; Project Management; Competency and Project Management as a Profession; Managing in a Multi-project Environment; Collaborative Approaches to Procurement.

Dr Kishore Budha, School of Design, k.n.budha@leeds.ac.uk

Meaning Centred Design.

Professor Mark Birkin, School of Geography, m.h.birkin@leeds.ac.uk

Simulating Social and Demographic Change within Cities and Regions, and in Understanding the Impact of these Changes on the Need for Services like Housing, Roads and Hospitals.

Professor Harvey Thompson, School of Mechanical Engineering, h.m.thompson@leeds.ac.uk

Computational Fluid Dynamics.

Dr Nik Kapur, School of Mechanical Engineering, n.kapur@leeds.ac.uk

Applied Fluid Mechanics.

Dr Rebecca Slack, Water@Leeds, r.slack@leeds.ac.uk

Understanding the Fate and Behaviour of Chemicals in Different Environmental Media, with a Particular Focus on Freshwater Systems, within a Risk Assessment Framework and with a Focus on Human Health Consequences.

Dr Rachael Spraggs, Centre for Integrated Petroleum and Geoscience (CiPEG), r.e.spraggs@leeds.ac.uk

CiPEG Business Development Director and is the First Point of Contact for all Enquiries.
Dr David Dawson, School of Earth and Environment and School of Civil Engineering, d.a.dawson@leeds.ac.uk

Barriers to Delivering a World-class Infrastructure System - Combining Engineering, Economics and Social Science Perspectives.

Prof Paul Chatterton, School of Geography, p.chatterton@leeds.ac.uk

Sustainable and International Development.

Dr Alice Owen, School of Earth and Environment, a.m.owen@leeds.ac.uk

The Diffusion and Impact of Domestic Green Technology; The Role of 'Place' in Sustainability; Achieving Domestic Low Carbon Retrofit - Particularly the Role of Advisers and Installers; NGOs and Micro-enterprises.

Margo Hanson, School of Earth and Environment, m.hanson@leeds.ac.uk

Environmental Issues and Sustainability.

Professor Christopher Dent, School of Languages, Cultures and Societies, c.m.dent@leeds.ac.uk

International Political Economy and Energy Security.